flowers for fall

At the flower shop we’ve phased out the beach-towel brights of summer and moved on to the burgundies and oranges of fall.  Over the weekend I got to put together this seasonal arrangement:

cube vase with orange lilies, yellow roses, leucadendron, green berries, and mini callas

I think fall might be my favorite season for floral design because in the fall people embrace textural elements they tend to ignore during the rest of the year.  Working at the flower shop has taught me to recognize my attraction to texture.  I love the way a few unexpected things, like the leucadendron and hypericum berries in this arrangement, can take flowers from “pretty” to “interesting”–in a good way, not in an “Oh-that’s-interesting” way.  The other flowers here are orange Asiatic lilies, yellow roses, and purple mini calla lilies.

top view of previous arrangement

If the Thanksgiving color palette isn’t really your thing, there are plenty of other directions you can take fall flowers.  Here’s a small vase I put together for friends who had their first baby, a little girl, last week.  I felt confident they’d receive plenty of pink, so I chose red instead.  Besides, I knew they had a lot of red in her nursery so I wasn’t worried about red being “wrong.”

white hydrangea, red Gerbera daisies, red alstroemeria, and birch sticks in a bling cylinder vase

I have to admit I thought about using whites and greens in one of those pink ceramic baby vases–in the store we have ones shaped like carriages, shoes, and bouncy balls.  But I hate their cliche pastel-iness and I thought this new mother probably would too.  So I opted for a simple cylinder adorned with what my co-workers and I call “bling”: a silvery plastic band we wrap around vases for a bit of sparkle.  The flowers are white hydrangea, red Gerbera daisies, and red alstroemeria.  Then, since it is fall, after all, I added birch sticks for texture.

Do your preferences in flowers or decor change with the seasons?  What colors, textures, or objects are you craving as we leave behind sand-and-sun for sweaters-and-cider?  (Yay, sweaters!  Yum, cider!)

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. rustic recycling « wellcrafted

Add your two cents:

