single curtain seeks mate

You may remember that I finally found a perfect-enough curtain for the bedroom window.  If you forgot, or never heard about it in the first place, no worries; I will bring you up to speed.  (Click here for the original story about how this curtain became The One.)  Here it is pulled across the window.  That looked okay.

one curtain, covering whole window

What looked slightly less okay was the curtain in its only possible “open” position, but I better explain the reason for that position.  Our apartment came with ridiculous, ugly, and out-of-date drapes on a pulley.  Kind of like drapes in a cheap motel, though thankfully not patterned like an ’80s bedspread.  I never liked them but I did adapt to living with them–until I started updating the bedroom.  Then they just had to go.  Technically we’re supposed to get our landlord’s OK to change the curtains, but I’d rather not risk being told no.

one curtain, open {pulled to center of window}

I’m keeping the originals nicely folded in a closet and figuring that as long as what faces out is white (like the originals) no one will be the wiser except the pest control and maintenance guys–the only staff who see this room from the inside–and they don’t care.  But the rod for the old drapes has a fairly sophisticated attachment I don’t want to recreate upon moving out, so I tried to work with it.  I attached the shower-curtain rings over the rod.  There was just one problem.  The sliders that allow the drapes to open and close aren’t removable.  The rings aren’t wide enough to slide over them.  So the only way to rig this curtain was to use the pulley to move the sliders to the middle, then attach six rings on each side of the sliders.  Thus, the only possible way to have the curtain open is to slide the sides into the awkward position above.

After trying to pretend I was okay with that look, I decided I should add another curtain.  Drama ensued.  The curtain was out of stock at my local Target.  It was an “in-store-only” product.  When I went back a few days later they still didn’t have it, even though the person I talked to when I first learned of the shortage assured me that more were coming.  I might have sighed a hundred times and scoured the web like a madwoman.  I know it’s dumb.  It’s just that moderation has left me stranded more than once.  I’ve learned that if I find something compelling, as long as the price is right I should commit without hesitation.  I was kicking myself for saying, “One is enough…I think” and not buying a second one just in case.  It was a few weeks before I found the same curtain in stock again, to my immense (probably disproportionate) relief.  Weird fact: they had changed the packaging.

packages for curtains bought at different times

These two curtains are very happy together.  Much like Lovey and me, they part ways in the morning and come together again in the evening.  And I think it works.  I’ve tried not to insist on rigid symmetry in this apartment’s decor, but in this room I think symmetry is the best look, and I think my curtains are both relieved to have found a partner with whom they have so much in common.

two curtains, open {pulled to sides}

How about you?  Are you attracted to mirror-image matching or unfussy asymmetry?  Have you ever regretted not buying an extra of something, or not buying something at all?  (I still fantasize about a pair of purple pineapple lamps I walked away from in a thrift store.  They would have been so perfect!)  Have you ever waited to buy something and then been unable to get it when you were ready?  How do you decide when to go for a purchase and when to exercise a little patience?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. diloocoo

     /  October 15, 2012

    The single curtain was very much enhanced by its mate, much like us married folk!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

