bedroom project

It’s time to redo the bedroom!  I’m excited because Hubby got on board with this one.  When I asked what colors he thought would look good in our room he thoughtfully started listing: “Red…orange…and purple.”

4 paint sample cards

“Really?!” was all I could think.  I was surprised, but pleased too.  This is the guy who used to want everything bland.  He loves mashed potatoes and bread, though he’s branched out to try curry and fish tacos.  He wears a variation of the same outfits daily, but he recently added a red shirt to his blues and greens.  Our room has been decorated in light blue and shades of brown since we got married, yet this exotic color combination was his suggestion.

Here are the first small changes.  I sanded this old sewing table-turned-nightstand to get it ready for painting.

bedside table with alarm clock, mirror, fabric covered box

I’d like to replace this white plastic trash can with a basket.

white plastic trash can

This empty space used to hold an old bookshelf, one Hubby brought into the marriage with him.  It made for a cavernous bedside piece, so I moved it to make room for something better suited to the space.

empty space by bed with mirror hanging on wall

The bookshelf relocated to the end of the bed.  This one change has made such a difference in the feeling of the room.  The huge mirror (which I found next to the dumpster!) used to hang out in the corner of the living room.  Our tiny visitors loved staring at themselves in it and smearing their fingerprints all over it.  I’ll have to find something else to entertain them because the mirror is happy here.

shelf topped with large mirror and small objects

When I finish the little bedroom decor project I’m working on now I’ll be sure to let you know, because the mirror is going to make it even better.  It’s a little frustrating.  Hopefully it won’t be long until it’s finished and (I’ll give you a clue) I can hang it!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. actual pinspiration « wellcrafted
  2. runaway weekend « wellcrafted
  3. getting there « wellcrafted

Add your two cents:

