wishy washy weather

Classic late spring: sometimes it’s crisp; sometimes it’s smoldering.  It’s anyone’s guess what’s coming tomorrow–even if you’ve checked the forecast.  I’ve caught those meteorologists at their game: sometimes Sunday night’s reading calls for “70 degrees and sunny” on Monday, while by Monday morning it’s “64 degrees and partly cloudy.”  I’m onto you, Weatherman-Who-Sneaks-In-Changes-While-I-Sleep.  So onto you.

Thanks to this anything-goes “prediction” method I’ve learned to dress for dicey weather.  One of my favorites this spring is adding mileage to a dress by turning it into a skirt.

blue 3/4-sleeve top over knee length blue flowered dress

People were convinced.  All day at work they remarked over my “cute skirt.”  It was comfy too!  I don’t know about you, but sometimes I have waistband-comfort issues with bottoms that aren’t jeans.  This lower layer secretly went all the way to my shoulders, so no worries there.

I think this discovery will change how I buy dresses.  Most of mine have bodice texture–pleats, embroidery, buttons, etc.–that would look bumpy under a shirt, so super-simple dresses are going to get more attention from here on.  Have you ever layered a shirt over a dress and pretended the dress was a skirt?  How did it go for you?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Diana Fahrenholtz

     /  June 3, 2012

    I like this idea. Here in Colorado, we have the same issue with change in weather, but it’s more like 65 down to 40, so I still have my sweaters out. You look lovely!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

