make mine a double

Repetition creates impact.  Repetition creates impact.  Repeti–no, not in writing.  That’s not a thing.  Visually, though….  I love to see multiples used to create one big statement.  Whether we’re talking about…

…Gerbera daisies in 5-gallon buckets…

…votives in a centerpiece…

…or miniature pots lined up on shelves, several of the same thing in a group can create one impressive look.  Does it translate to fashion?

You may not think so but I’ll tell you one thing: it sure was cozy!  And I’d do it again.  While we’re doing the “multiple” thing, here are two outfits I wore recently, both based on one amazingly comfy pair of pants.  (Thanks to my friend Natalie for helping me finally find the black leggings I’ve been searching for.)

And a dressier take…

Anybody else have ideas for styling leggings?  I prefer to avoid the following:

1. Ugg boots  (They are called “ugg” for a reason, at least according to the last sentence of the second paragraph of the “History” section of this article on Wikipedia.)

2. Collegiate sweatshirts.

3. Showing my bum.

Now that I’ve taken away most of the culturally popular options, do you still have any suggestions?  We can take comfy and make it classy, right?  Please tell me I’m right.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Diana Fahrenholtz

     /  February 24, 2012

    Love the daisies! Hate the Uggs also! You are so stylish, Maria! Can you wear them to work, or are you more Marian the Librarian? I’m sure the flower shop owner and customers like your creations. Wish I was close to order some!

    Reply

Add your two cents: