parisian chic style guide

I found Ines de la Fressange’s book while checking in books at the library.  The red cover grabbed my attention right away.  Though you might hope that someone who works among books would judge them by their contents rather than their covers, I’m afraid that red leatherlike cover with its gold stamping was too much for my logical side to overcome.  I had to check out the book.  I had to read it.  Clearly it was going to yield something wonderful.

In this case, cover-judgment was spot-on.  The book contains exactly what I’ve been seeking: a list of must-haves for the classic (timeless) woman’s wardrobe.  Just look–how could you not want to be that breezy?

I highly recommend that you lay your hands on a copy of the book, whether from the library or the bookstore.  In the meantime, I thought it would be nice to have a list of (almost) all of Ines’ favorite shops* in one place.  I spent quite a bit of time flipping back and forth to find the addresses she provides–and there are plenty!  Only the fashion part really interests me, so I’m only including those.  She also offers lists of fashionable retailers that could help you find “just the thing” when you’re looking for home decor, flowers, organizational items, and children’s clothing.  (And that’s just the shopping part–she also has suggestions for where to eat, stay, take kids, discover “secret” Paris, and more!) *I omitted a few because they are “Paris exclusives” without an online presence.

I didn’t know who Ines de la Fressange was when I picked up the book.  Even now I don’t think it matters much that she’s a successful businesswoman and former supermodel.  What really matters is that she has condensed a career’s-worth of style savvy into one lightweight, pretty book.  Here’s a sneak-peek of her essential style sense–the must-have shoe list: ballet flats, sandals, black heels, penny loafers, and riding boots.

For more, find the book here, the best online price I found.

Want even more?  Aimee (AWmee) Song at Song of Style likes the book too, and shows side-by-side photos of Ines and her daughter, Nine, modeling similar outfits.

Okay, enough preamble.  I need to go through my closet yet again and take stock of my essentials!  I have a short list of basics I’m looking for, and while I don’t plan to spend 650 euros on jeans, these sites are fun places to browse for outfit inspiration.  Without further ado, here’s your list of online Parisian clothiers:

Soeur, for mini-dresses and scarves

Vanessa Bruno, for totes, heels, and pretty underthings

Athe by Vanesssa Bruno (diffusion line=cheaper)

APC, for jeans

Isabel Marant, for shirts, which are apparently so amazing that certain celebrities buy one of everything.

Maje, for edgy stuff

Sandro, for city slicker stuff

Ba&sh, for simple stuff

Eric Bompard, for cashmere

Petit Bateau, for tanks and undies

Kerstin Adolphson, for a leather tote

Swildens, for a leather jacket

Journal Standard de Luxe, for oversize sweaters

Marie-Helene de Taillac, for jewelry

Dinh Van, for jewelry

Emmanuelle Zysman, for jewelry

LeTeo & Blet, for jewelry

Jerome Dreyfuss, for practical handbags

58 m, for the Tila March collection

Roger Vivier, for ballet flats

Upla, for satchels

Le Bon Marche, for everything

Mamie, for vintage

Doursoux, for military surplus

Ines also recommends: Victoria’s Secret, Top Shop, American Apparel, Rondini, Urban Outfitters, and Rusty Zipper, Shop Bop, and Abercrombie.  Whew!  I think we all have some shopping, or at least window shopping, to do.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Looks like a wonderful book! I will definitely be on the lookout for it. I have a fellow blogger friend who is also a model and fashion designer; I’ll point this book out to her as well. Thanks so much for making me aware of it!

    Reply
  1. Out On My Library Card~2012 « wellcrafted

Add your two cents:

