grab your sunglasses!

Bright Spring
BONUS POST!  I just discovered polyvore.com.  (Thanks, Pinterest.)  Today I purged my closet–again.  The load gets lighter and lighter, and that lightness feels fantastic! Of course empty hangers do cry out to me with their unreasonable request to be filled again.  No, you little tempters!  Besides, I don’t have any more frivolous money anyway.
That’s because the perfect–yes, perfectboots I ordered will be here soon, and for them I traded all my Christmas money.  Well, all but 73 cents of it.  So pretty much all.  Despite the pain of the purchase, it seemed serendipitous.  I finally found boots that met all my criteria: low heel, dark brown without being too red/orange/yellow, knee high but classy, and–here’s the kicker–comfortable.  Do you think that combination doesn’t exist?  I almost thought so too.  But then I discovered these.
I set about finding the best price and quickly learned that my stingy desire to have cash left over after this purchase was unlikely to be rewarded.  I tried to be patient…I let the boots go by in my size & color at what I now realize was a great price ($114)…and finally I let my desperate, emotional side buy them as soon as I found the right size/color again.  More than $114.  But free shipping.  Which is good because I’m pretty sure the 73-cent wiggle room wouldn’t have covered shipping.
All that to say I’m happy to shop in my imagination for the rest of the month.  Here’s my wild and eye-popping first outing to the virtual mall.  You should try it too; it’s a good stand-in for window shopping!  Plus, I think this might be a creative way to design outfits for something I’ve been wanting to try for a while: create-the-designer-look-for-less–i.e. go shopping with a whole “designer” outfit picture, and find pieces on the cheap to replicate the look.  When I say cheap, I mean start at the thrift store and work up from there.  Could be fun, right?

Racer back tank
$40 – witchery.com.au

DAY Birger et Mikkelsen knit jacket
£120 – net-a-porter.com

Pamela henson
€339 – veryeickhoff.com

Tory burch shoes
$195 – bloomingdales.com

Floral handbag
$115 – modcloth.com

Isharya 18k jewelry
$65 – net-a-porter.com

Moschitto Designs cuff jewelry
$42 – nordstrom.com
Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. waiting for the other shoe to drop…and the other…and the other « wellcrafted

Add your two cents:

